The New York Wine Classic

The New York Wine Classic was created and is annually hosted by The New York Wine & Grape Foundation. Open to all New York State wineries, categories include vinifera wines like Riesling and Cabernet Franc, and hybrid wines like Traminette and Maréchal Foch. The contest also includes categories for wines made from labrusca grapes, other fruits, and honey.

All wines entered are scored and may be awarded a medal. Awards are given for “Best of Class” for styles with at least seven wines entered. “Best of Category” awards are given for the highest scoring red, white, pink, sparkling, and dessert wine. The Governor’s Cup, a large silver chalice, recognizes the “Best of Show” or top prize in the New York Wine Classic. The “Winery of the Year” award is presented to the winery with the best overall showing based on the level and number of awards in relation to entries.

Submissions for the 2024 New York Wine Classic are currently open until March 31st with wine samples due no later than April 15th.

Governor’s Cup

Paumanok Vineyards
2019 Late Harvest, Sauvignon Blanc

Congratulations to the winners of the 2023 New York Wine Classic!

Winery of the Year

Paumanok Vineyards
Aquebogue, NY
(North Fork of Long Island)

Wine competitions are a unique blend of objective and subjective.  The objectivity involves several people in a blind tasting process which eliminates personal bias for a region or winery. The subjectivity involves the personal taste sensitivities and preferences of different people. If everyone tasted the same, and preferred the same nuances in wine, there would be no need for more than one person. Read more >>

photo of jim trezise holding a glass of wine

Written by Jim Trezise

Jim Trezise has been involved with the grape and wine industry since 1982. He served as Executive Director of the New York Wine & Grape Foundation, which he co-created in 1985, until 2017. He is currently the President of WineAmerica.