2022 New York Wine Classic Awards Ceremony to be Hosted By Karen MacNeil, Author of The Wine Bible and creator of WineSpeed

karen macneil
Karen MacNeil

The New York Wine & Grape Foundation (NYWGF) is pleased to announce that the 2022 New York Wine Classic Award winners will be honored on July 12th at 6:00PM EST in a live virtual ceremony hosted by Karen MacNeil.  

The New York Wine Classic Awards Ceremony will reveal and celebrate the prestigious “Governor’s Cup” (Best Wine), “Winery of the Year” (Best Overall Showing by a Winery), and “Best in Category” winners.  

Organized annually by NYWGF, the New York Wine Classic celebrates a diverse selection of world-class wines from producers statewide. For the second year, NYWGF has partnered with the Beverage Testing Institute (BTI) to judge wines submitted from across New York state. Scores were awarded by BTI’s trained sensory panel comprised of beverage directors, sommeliers, top bartenders, retail buyers and educators. 

All are encouraged to join host Karen MacNeil, one of the top wine professionals in the United States, for this exciting unveiling. 

“For over 35 years, the New York Wine Classic competition has celebrated the best of the best in our industry,” notes Sam Filler, Executive Director of NYWGF. “We urge you to tune in as Karen MacNeil honors the winners and shares stories about what makes New York wines so exquisite and exciting. This is also a great opportunity to learn about the winning wines that will inevitably sell out quickly!” 

“The top wines of New York State are the best-kept secrets in the US,” says Karen MacNeil. “They should absolutely be better known across the country. The New York Wine Classic Awards will help wine lovers discover some of New York’s most delicious wines.” 

The New York Wine Classic Awards Ceremony is free and open to all. Learn more and register online here.  

Please reach out to Jennifer Cooper, Membership and Events Manager, if you have any questions about the New York Wine Classic.  

About the New York Wine Classic

The New York Wine Classic was created and is annually hosted by The New York Wine & Grape Foundation. Open to all New York State wineries, categories include vinifera wines like Riesling and Cabernet Franc, and hybrid wines like Traminette and Maréchal Foch. The contest also includes categories for wines made from labrusca grapes, other fruits, and honey.

All wines entered are scored and may be awarded a medal. Awards are given for “Best of Class” for styles with at least seven wines entered. “Best of Category” awards are given for the highest scoring red, white, pink, sparkling, and dessert wine. The Governor’s Cup, a large silver chalice, recognizes the “Best of Show” or top prize in the New York Wine Classic. The “Winery of the Year” award is presented to the winery with the best overall showing based on the level and number of awards in relation to entries.

Picture of New York Wine & Grape Foundation

New York Wine & Grape Foundation

The mission of the New York Wine & Grape Foundation is to promote the world-class image of New York grapes and wines from our diverse regions to responsibly benefit farmers, producers and consumers through innovative marketing, research, communication, and advocacy.